Industry News

15th Annual ACSA/AISC Steel Design Student Competition Winners Announced

Sixteen student design projects have been honored in the 15th annual Steel Design Student Competition for the 2014-2015 academic year. Administered by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and sponsored by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), the program challenges architecture students from across North America to explore a variety of design issues related to the use of steel in design and construction. A total of $14,000 in cash prizes was awarded to the winning students and their faculty sponsors.

Students competed individually and in teams to submit designs in two categories that required steel to be used as the primary structural material and with special emphasis placed on innovation in steel design. The Library category challenged students to envision a library as an open source exchange for all forms of information and entertainment, serving a diverse public and playing a critical role as a cultural agent in the community. In the Open Category, students were given the flexibility to select a site and building program.

The winners in each category are:

Category I – Library

First Place: “Rebound”

Students: Natacha Schnider and Chip Hubert
Faculty Sponsor: Margarida Yin
School: California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Second Place: “Integration through Circulation: Jesuit Community Library”

Students: Joseph Binck, Emily Girardi, Kelly Foley and Tatiana Barbuzza
Faculty Sponsor: Luis Boza
School: Catholic University of America

Third Place: “Beacon – Heterotopia of Lagos’ Public Space”

Students: Nicholas Fish, Junye Zhou and Tony Tai-An Yue
Faculty Sponsor: Yong Huang
School: Drury University

Honorable Mentions:

Alley InTension

Students: Oretola Thomas and Vicky Arias
Faculty Sponsor: Susan Piedmont-Palladino
School: Virginia Tech

A-(Traction) Library

Students: Miguel Lopez Rodriguez and Carmen Rubio Alfaro
Faculty Sponsor: Timothy Collins
School: City College of New York

The Cormac McCarthy Library

Students: Kristin Bowman and Emanuel Huber-Feely
Faculty Sponsors: Kevin Stevens and Lisa Mullikin
School: University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Search Bar

Student: Connor Irick
Faculty Sponsor: Robert Corser
School: University of Washington

Read Make Library

Students: Nicholas Rados and Juan Franco
Faculty Sponsor: Gerard Smulevich
School: Woodbury University


Category II – Open

First Place: “Murshidibad Women’s Resource Center”

Student: Caroline Angell
Faculty Sponsor: Margarida Yin
School: California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Second Place: “Miami S Stadium”

Students: Xiao Wang, Hanwei Fan and Yifeng Guo
Faculty Sponsor: Thomas Leslie
School: Iowa State University

Third Place: “Canopy: Georgetown Chocolate Factory”

Student: Matthew Fuhr
Faculty Sponsor: Elizabeth Golden
School: University of Washington

Honorable Mentions:

A Beacon for Baltimore

Students: Marissa Levash, Erica Aronson and Evan Schroeder
Faculty Sponsor: Madlen Simon
School: University of Maryland


Student: Alexander Shows
Faculty Sponsor: Pasquale De Paola
School: Louisiana Tech University

Steel Cubed: A Public Gym for Seattle

Student: Alden Mackey
Faculty Sponsor: Rick Mohler
School: University of Washington

Steel Resistance

Students: Marilyn Chavarria and Alan Manning
Faculty Sponsor: Gerard Smulevich
School: Woodbury University

Vert: a pocket gym

Student: Josh Carel
Faculty Sponsor: Rick Mohler
School: University of Washington

More than 500 steel design projects from nearly 1,500 students were received for this year’s competition, and 188 faculty members served as student advisers. In total, 75 universities from across North America took part.

To learn more about the competition, visit