Industry News

Aluminum Extruders Council elects officers and directors

The results of the annual election of officers and directors of the Aluminum Extruders Council recently were announced at the 62nd Annual Meeting & Leadership Conference in Fort Myers, Fla.


Duncan Crowdis, president of Bonnell Aluminum in Newnan, Ga., was elected to a one-year term as Chairman; Richard Merluzzi, president and CEO of Pennex Aluminum Co. in Wellsville, Pa., was elected to a one-year term as Vice Chairman; Thomas Schabel, CEO of Alexandria Extrusion Co. in Alexandria, Minn., was elected to a one-year term as Immediate Past Chairman; and Rand Baldwin, CAE, was elected to the non-voting position of President of the Council.


Four AEC member representatives were newly elected to the Board of Directors. William Wetmore, president of Taber Extrusions LLC in Russellville, Ark., was elected to a three-year term as Extruder Director; Dan Formsma, president of AACOA Extrusions Inc. in Niles, Mich., was elected to complete two years of the three-year term as Extruder Director, the position that was vacated by Merluzzi¹s elevation to Vice Chairman; Neil Chrisman, president of Spectrum Metal Finishing Inc. in Youngstown, Ohio, was elected to a two-year term as Supplier Director; and Carl Eppolito, sales director-extrusion billet for Alcoa Primary Metals in Knoxville, Tenn., was elected to a two-year term as Producer Director.


Two member representatives were re-elected to the AEC Board of Directors. Herbert Schuler Jr., president of General Extrusions in Youngstown, Ohio, was re-elected to a three-year term as Extruder Director; and James Dickson, commercial director-North America for Rio Tinto Alcan-Ingot Sales in Mayfield Heights, Ohio, was re-elected to a two-year term as At-Large Director.


Continuing their service on the Board of Directors are Independent Extruder Director Jeffrey Henderson, marketing director for Sapa Extrusions in Delhi, La.; At-Large Director Lynn Brown, vice-president, sales and marketing for Hydro Aluminum in Linthicum, Md.; and Independent Extruder Director Robert Swartz, general manager for Kaiser Aluminum in Sherman, Texas. In addition, Swartz was appointed the At-Large member of the Executive Committee.


To view the list of current members of the AEC Board of Directors, visit